Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
colhusker

Guys I apologize for being a bit

Recommended Posts

Okay I looked, and in my 56 years this is the 12th time is all.  Add in with the win last night this team has won the 4th most games ever in a season.  Let that sink in, for a team playing since the late 1800's (granted far few games early on) this is the 12th time a Nebraska basketball team has won 20 (guess I have seen them all) and 20 is the 4th highest total.  We are watching something special this year!

Edited by colhusker

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I dont want to jump the gun too much... but does anyone else think this season has the potential to be a great 30 for 30.

 

Just taking into context our tradition and history (lack thereof), recent struggles (turnover of core players), how last season ended, this season (Copeland eligibility, Jordy situation, lack of tourney buzz). If we make the tourney AND get our first win, being the last P5 to do so, we'd have to be a great candidate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, khoock said:

I dont want to jump the gun too much... but does anyone else think this season has the potential to be a great 30 for 30.

 

Just taking into context our tradition and history (lack thereof), recent struggles (turnover of core players), how last season ended, this season (Copeland eligibility, Jordy situation, lack of tourney buzz). If we make the tourney AND get our first win, being the last P5 to do so, we'd have to be a great candidate.

 

yes, which is precisely why OSU will get it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, PimpMario said:
2 hours ago, hhcdimes said:
 
#20 for Doc was in the NIT

So just doc did it instead?

 

I"m not sure of your meaning but as stated it seems like you were saying Doc won 20 games and that didn't get him into the NCAA tourney.  He won 19 games and was able to pick up #20 in one of his seasons because he made the NIT.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
25 minutes ago, hhcdimes said:

 

I"m not sure of your meaning but as stated it seems like you were saying Doc won 20 games and that didn't get him into the NCAA tourney.  He won 19 games and was able to pick up #20 in one of his seasons because he made the NIT.

See I told Pimp he couldn't harsh my mellow!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, hhcdimes said:

 

I"m not sure of your meaning but as stated it seems like you were saying Doc won 20 games and that didn't get him into the NCAA tourney.  He won 19 games and was able to pick up #20 in one of his seasons because he made the NIT.

 

Exactly.  

 

That season was 2008 and our league record was 7-9.  Furthermore, win #19 only came in the Big 12 tournament, and to add insult to injury the Non-Conference strength of schedule was a pathetic 340th in the nation (out of 341 D-1 teams).  Interestingly our final KenPom ranking that year was #39.

 

2008 Schedule help.gif

Game Plan | Opponent Tracker

Date Opponent Result     Location Record Conf  
Sat Nov 10 293 Presbyterian W, 67-52 56   Home 1-0    
Sat Nov 17 318 Alabama A&M W, 59-45 66   Home 2-0    
Tue Nov 20 290 Norfolk St. W, 83-48 67   Home 3-0    
Sat Nov 24 74 Creighton L, 74-62 69   Away 3-1   a.gif
Mon Nov 26 198 IPFW W, 79-62 64   Home 4-1    
Sun Dec 2 49 Arizona St. W, 62-47 58   Home 5-1   b.gif
Wed Dec 5 43 Western Kentucky L, 69-62 74 OT Away 5-2   a.gif
Sun Dec 9 183 Rutgers W, 63-51 62   Home 6-2    
Tue Dec 11 285 Savannah St. W, 82-37 69   Home 7-2    
Sat Dec 15 36 Oregon W, 88-79 74 OT Semi-Home 8-2   b.gif
Sat Dec 22 334 North Carolina Central W, 71-28 64   Home 9-2    
Sat Dec 29 339 Alcorn St. W, 77-53 66   Home 10-2    
Fri Jan 4 340 Maryland Eastern Shore W, 86-50 64   Home 11-2    
Sat Jan 12 1 Kansas L, 79-58 64   Home 11-3 0-1 a.gif
Tue Jan 15 125 Colorado L, 55-51 56   Away 11-4 0-2 b.gif
Sat Jan 19 41 Baylor L, 72-70 75   Home 11-5 0-3 b.gif
Sat Jan 26 1 Kansas L, 84-49 74   Away 11-6 0-4 a.gif
Wed Jan 30 54 Missouri W, 66-62 67   Away 12-6 1-4 a.gif
Sat Feb 2 124 Iowa St. W, 64-56 66   Home 13-6 2-4  
Wed Feb 6 26 Kansas St. L, 74-59 65   Away 13-7 2-5 a.gif
Sat Feb 9 83 Texas Tech W, 73-62 63   Home 14-7 3-5  
Wed Feb 13 54 Missouri L, 86-78 77 OT Home 14-8 3-6 b.gif
Sat Feb 16 124 Iowa St. L, 60-52 63   Away 14-9 3-7 b.gif
Wed Feb 20 26 Kansas St. W, 71-64 62   Home 15-9 4-7 a.gif
Sat Feb 23 21 Texas A&M W, 65-59 57   Away 16-9 5-7 a.gif
Wed Feb 27 44 Oklahoma W, 63-45 56   Home 17-9 6-7 b.gif
Sat Mar 1 75 Oklahoma St. L, 77-63 64   Away 17-10 6-8 a.gif
Tue Mar 4 9 Texas L, 70-66 62   Away 17-11 6-9 a.gif
Sun Mar 9 125 Colorado W, 68-49 60   Home 18-11 7-9  
Big 12 Conference Tournament
Thu Mar 13 54 Missouri W, 61-56 62   Neutral 19-11   b.gif
Fri Mar 14 1 Kansas L, 64-54 60   Neutral 19-12   a.gif
Postseason
Wed Mar 19 84 Charlotte W, 67-48 66   Home 20-12    
Mon Mar 24 50 Mississippi L, 85-75 73 OT Away 20-13   a.gif

 

Strength of Schedule
Components: 106.4 81 100.2 54 103.4
Overall: +6.19 69 0.00
Non-conference: -12.71 340 0.00

 


 

So, to in any way try to compare that 2008 season to this one is very much a fool's errand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×